View Current

School Boards - Membership and Terms of Reference

This is the current version of this document. To view historic versions, click the link in the document's navigation bar.

Section 1 - Membership


(1) For each School of the University a School Board shall be established with the following membership:

  1. the Head of School;
  2. all academic staff of the School. Note: Academic staff includes all staff employed by the School on continuing and fixed term contracts. In accordance with the provisions of the Visiting and Adjunct Appointments Policy of the University, adjunct and visiting academic staff in the Schools of Theology, Policing Studies and Information Studies are included as members of academic staff in the membership of School Boards;
  3. up to three students enrolled in subjects taught by the School nominated by the University's Student Senate.
    1. For the School of Indigenous Australian Studies Board the student members will be nominated by the University's Student Senate, in consultation with Indigenous Student Services.

(2) Sessional academic staff may be invited to attend meetings of the School Board, with the right of audience and debate.

(3) School administrative staff and technical staff shall have the right of audience and debate at meetings of the School Board.

Presiding Officer

(4) The Presiding Officer may be the Head of School or may be elected as an independent Chair from among the members of the Board for a period up to one year, and specified at the time of election.


(5) The secretary of the School Board will be appointed by the Head of School from amongst the administrative staff of the School.

Top of Page

Section 2 - Terms of Reference

(6) Subject to the Act, the By-law and to Resolutions of the Academic Senate and of the Faculty Board, each respective School Board shall:

  1. be the principal academic body of the School, providing advice to the Head of School in setting the strategic direction of the School, consistent with Faculty and University plans and policies; promoting excellence in the School's teaching, research, scholarly and professional activities, and supporting the development of staff to achieve such excellence;
  2. consider and make recommendations to the Head of School and the Faculty Courses Committee with respect to all matters relating to the subjects taught by the School (NOTE: In 2014 Academic Senate has delegated to the Faculty Smart Learning Courses Leadership and Management Committee and the University Smart Learning Leadership and Management Committee authority for the approval of course and subject matters relating to early adopting courses in the Smart Learning process);
  3. consider and make recommendations to the Faculty Board with respect to decisions and recommendations about academic and research matters impacting on the School;
  4. exercise its responsibilities in relation to academic matters as prescribed in Academic Policies;
  5. establish such sub-committees as are deemed necessary to conduct the tasks delegated;
  6. submit the minutes or a report of its proceedings to the Faculty Board.
Top of Page

Section 3 - Meetings

(7) The School Board shall conduct a minimum of three ordinary meetings each calendar year.

(8) School Boards may conduct their deliberations synchronously (e.g. face to face or by video-conference) and/or asynchronously (e.g. by using Yammer or Forums on Interact), depending on ingenuity and preference. Wherever geographically possible, School Boards may conduct at least one face-to-face meeting each calendar year.

(9) As detailed in the Boards and Committees Policy - Conduct of Meetings of Academic Committees (at clause 11), the quorum for School Boards (as for other academic committees) is a majority of members unless otherwise determined by the full School Board. Decision-making and voting may be conducted synchronously in a meeting or by other means (e.g. using the 'polling' function on Yammer).