View Current

Recognition of Service Guidelines

This is the current version of this document. You can provide feedback on this policy to the document author - refer to the Status and Details on the document's navigation bar.

Section 1 - Purpose

(1) These Guidelines set out Charles Sturt University's management principles and procedure for recognising staff who have been employed for an extended period of service at Charles Sturt University (the University).

(2) The objectives of Recognition of University Service are to:

  1. recognise the contribution of long-serving employees to the University;
  2. determine the appropriate service awards applicable to long-serving employees; and
  3. determine the appropriate financial value of a departure gift for long-serving employees on retirement or resignation.


(3) These Guidelines apply to all paid full-time, fractional-time, fixed-term or continuing employees of the University, who have completed a total service period of 20 years or more.

(4) These Guidelines do not apply to casual employees of the University.

Top of Page

Section 2 - Glossary

(5) Nil.

Top of Page

Section 3 - Policy

(6) Nil.

Top of Page

Section 4 - Procedures

(7) Nil.

Top of Page

Section 5 - Guidelines

Part A - Responsibilities

(8) The Division of Human Resources is responsible for identifying employees who qualify for service awards and the generation of such awards on an annual basis.

(9) The employee's Faculty or Division is responsible for identifying the appropriate amount of funding to be made available for the purchase of a departure gift for staff who have resigned or retired by reference to the table of maximum University contributions.

(10) The Head of Campus, in consultation with the Division of Human Resources, is responsible for arranging 20 and 30 year service functions.

Part B - Eligible Service

(11) For the purposes of these Guidelines, all paid full-time, fractional-time, fixed-term or continuing service with the University and its predecessor institutions will be considered as eligible service, regardless of whether there has been a break in service. The University's predecessor institutions are:

  1. Mitchell College of Advanced Education;
  2. Bathurst Teachers' College;
  3. Riverina-Murray Institute of Higher Education;
  4. Riverina College of Advanced Education;
  5. Wagga Wagga Teachers' College
  6. Wagga Wagga Agricultural College;
  7. Goulburn College of Advanced Education;
  8. Goulburn Teachers' College; and
  9. employees transferred from the University of Sydney, Orange.

(12) Casual service will not be recognised as eligible service for the purposes of these Guidelines except where such service has been of a continuous nature and recognised for long service leave purposes.

Part C - Service Awards

(13) Employees who have served the appropriate qualifying period may be eligible to receive a "20 Year Service Medal" or, after 30 years of service, a "University Service Medal".

(14) On an annual basis, the Division of Human Resources will produce the relevant Alesco report to identify eligible recipients for service awards and, following verification of records, will organise the engraving of medals.

(15) In determining total eligible service, employee absences on unpaid leave affecting service will be considered.

(16) Where an employee has previously held a continuing or fixed-term appointment with the University or its predecessor institutions, the period of prior service will be taken into consideration for purposes of recognising the total eligible service period.

(17) The Office of the Head of Campus will organise an appropriate campus or University function for the combined presentation of 20 and 30 year medals by the Head of Campus or the Vice-Chancellor. If the employee elects not to attend the function, the Section Head will arrange a low-key presentation within the Section.

(18) The details of recipients of a service award will be recorded in the Alesco system for future reference.

Part D - Departure Gifts

(19) Employees who resign or retire after 10 years of service may be eligible to receive a University-funded gift on departure, the cost of which will be met from the employee's Faculty or Division.

(20) The relevant Division or Faculty may request the Division of Human Resources to identify eligibility for a University-funded gift and the value of such gift. In determining eligible service for the calculation of departure gifts, employee absences on unpaid leave affecting service will be considered.

(21) Departing employees will be invited to select a gift and inform their Section Head of their selection. The gift cannot be in the form of a cash payment. University-funded gifts will be presented at an appropriate local function.

(22) Colleagues of the departing employee may contribute to a departing gift, providing the University's contribution towards the gift is clearly documented and complies with the standard purchasing procedures of the Division of Finance.

(23) Employees who have previously received a departure gift on resignation and have been re-appointed by the University will be required to serve a period of 10 years from re-commencement to qualify for a further departure gift.

(24) Employees who transfer or are appointed to a different Faculty, Division or Campus of the University are not eligible to receive a University-funded gift at the time of transfer.

(25) The maximum University contribution to gifts is outlined below;

  1. 10-19 Years Service = $150 plus $15 for each completed year of service over 10 years;
  2. 20-29 Years Service = $300 plus $20 for each completed year of service over 20 years; and
  3. 30+ Years Service = $500.