View Current

Academic Senate - Workplace Learning Committee - Membership and Terms of Reference

This is the current version of this document. To view historic versions, click the link in the document's navigation bar.

Section 1 - Membership


(1) Membership of the Workplace Learning Committee (the Committee) comprises:

  1. a nominee of the Executive Dean of each Faculty;
  2. two nominees of the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Teaching);
  3. one nominee of the Dean of Students;
  4. the University Ombudsman;
  5. a Legal Officer from the Office of Governance and Corporate Affairs;
  6. Sub Dean, Workplace Learning from each Faculty; and
  7. Workplace Learning Academic Leads from each Faculty.

Right of Audience and Debate

(2) The following persons shall have right of audience and debate at meetings of the Committee:

  1. Workplace Learning Administration Managers from each Faculty; and
  2. the Manager, CSU Global.

Presiding Officer and Deputy Presiding Officer

(3) The Presiding Officer of the Workplace Learning Committee shall be appointed by the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) from amongst the membership of the Committee.

(4) The Deputy Presiding Officer will be nominated and elected by and from the members of the Committee.

Terms of Office

(5) The term of office of nominated, appointed and elected members of the Committee shall be two years.

Top of Page

Section 2 - Terms of Reference

(6) The Workplace Learning Committee is a sub-committee of the Curriculum, Learning and Teaching Committee (CLTC), which was established by the Academic Senate to oversee and advise the Academic Senate on curriculum and learning and teaching policy relating to undergraduate courses and postgraduate coursework programs within Charles Sturt University (the University).

(7) The Committee shall:

  1. develop and review academic policies relating to the conduct of workplace learning at the University and recommend to the CLTC that they be approved by the Academic Senate;
  2. consider academic risk-related issues associated with the conduct of workplace learning at the University and submit recommendations to the CLTC, and through it to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), the Academic Senate and Faculties, about those risks;
  3. receive reports that address these Terms of Reference from the Faculties, Workplace Learning Network, and management committees of University Clinics pertaining to the quality of the conduct of workplace learning associated with the University's courses; and
  4. provide advice and recommendations on academic issues which affect the conduct of workplace learning that have been referred to the Committee by the Academic Senate, through the Curriculum, Learning and Teaching Committee.
Top of Page

Section 3 - Miscellaneous


(8) The Committee shall conduct five ordinary meetings each year.


(9) Minutes of meetings of the Committee shall be submitted to the Curriculum, Learning and Teaching Committee (CLTC).


(10) An agenda item promoting the discussion of key sub topics of interest to members of the Committee will be included as a standing agenda item in agendas for meetings. This item of business will be considered after all other matters of business have been considered at a meeting.

Workplace Learning Committee Executive Group

(11) An Executive Group, comprising the Presiding Officer, Deputy Presiding Officer and Legal Officer will meet to decide urgent matters of risk that have been referred to the Committee which arise between meetings of the Workplace Learning Committee. The Executive Group shall make determinations in relation to risk issues in accordance with Workplace Learning policies approved by Academic Senate and in accordance with the University’s Risk Management Policy.