View Current

'Faculty Courses Committees' - Membership and Terms of Reference

This is not a current document. To view the current version, click the link in the document's navigation bar.

Section 1 - Establishment

(1) The Faculty Courses Committee was established by the Academic Senate on 10 August 2005 (AS 05/82) with terms of reference and membership approved on 7 December 2005 (AS 05/128).

(2) In July 2018 the Review of Academic Governance recommended that the Faculty Courses Committee be disestablished and the University Courses Committee be established with overall responsibility for course accreditation.

(3) In January 2019 the University Courses Committee was established.

(4) In November 2019 the membership and terms of reference for the Faculty Courses Committee was amended to change its status from an academic governance committee of the Academic Senate to a faculty operational committee, and change the purpose of the committee from approving courses and subject to monitoring and reviewing courses and subjects, effective 1 January 2020.


(5) Charles Sturt University (the University) has a responsibility to ensure good governance and management practices around the course accreditation activities of its faculties, and in the approval and monitoring of its subjects and courses.


(6) The purpose of the Faculty Courses Committee is to review Course and Subject Information Management System (CASIMS) reports for subjects and courses and recommend approval by the University Courses Committee in accordance with Academic Senate requpirements and the Higher Education Standards Framework. 

(7) The faculty may determine other operational purposes for the Faculty Courses Committee.

Top of Page

Section 2 - Glossary

(8) For the purpose of this document:

  1. Committee – means the Faculty Courses Committee
Top of Page

Section 3 - Membership

(9) The membership of the committee is set out below:

  1. Associate Dean (Academic) of the faculty (Chair)
  2. Executive Dean of the faculty
  3. Deputy Dean of the faculty
  4. relevant Sub Dean/s of the faculty
  5. Head of Schools of the faculty (and non-school bodies at the discretion of the Chair)
  6. Course Directors of the faculty
  7. One member of academic staff to be nominated from each School Board of the faculty
  8. One member of academic staff from another faculty
  9. One member from the Division of Learning and Teaching 
  10. One member from the Indigenous Board of Studies

(10) Right of audience and debate shall be granted to the following:

  1. An alternate academic staff member to be nominated from each School Board of the faculty
  2. Manager, Course Administration Team of the faculty
  3. Manager, Subject Administration Team of the faculty
  4. Faculty Administration Manager of the faculty
  5. Faculty Executive Officer of the faculty


(11) The secretary to the committee shall be appointed by the University Secretary or their delegate.

Term of office

(12) The term of appointment for members of the Faculty Courses Committee shall be two years.

Variation to membership

Faculty of Arts and Education

(13) The membership of the Faculty of Arts and Education Faculty Courses Committee has been varied to include:

  1. Executive Director, Student Success, or nominee
  2. Director, Centre for Islamic Studies and Civilisation
  3. Head of School or Director, St Marks National Theological College

Faculty of Science and Health

(14) The membership of the Faculty of Science and Health Faculty Courses Committee has been varied to include:

  1. Associate Dean (Partnerships and Workplace Learning)
Top of Page

Section 4 - Functions and responsibilities

(15) The committee will:

  1. ensure that courses and subjects considered by the committee, for recommendation for approval by the University Courses Committee of the Academic Senate, are consistent with Academic Senate requirements and the Higher Education Standards Framework, and the official, advertised content of these courses and subjects published in the University Handbook, CASIMS and other official publications and systems; and
  2. identify and escalate issues of compliance to the Faculty Board who is the principal academic governance body for the faculty and to the University Courses Committee which is the principal academic governance body overseeing course accreditation for the University. 
Top of Page

Section 5 - Meetings


(16) A quorum for the Faculty Courses Committee is a majority (half plus one) of members. 

(17) Meetings will be published by the Office of Governance and Corporate Affairs in an annual schedule.

Agendas and minutes

(18) Agendas are circulated to the committee one week prior to the committee meeting.

(19) Minutes of the committee meeting are circulated to committee members following the meeting. Minutes of the meeting are provided to the next meeting of the Faculty Board and University Courses Committee.

Conflicts of interest

(20) Where a member has a perceived or material conflict of interest, they must declare this to the Chair and at the committee meeting prior to discussion to the item of business.


(21) Variations to the terms of reference and/or membership of the Faculty Courses Committee must be approved by the University Courses Committee.