View Current

'Higher Degree by Research Scholarships Committee' - Membership and Terms of Reference

This is the current version of this document. To view historic versions, click the link in the document's navigation bar.

Section 1 - Establishment


(1) Following recommendations from the Review of Academic Governance in July 2018, in September 2019 Academic Senate discussed disestablishing this committee as a governance subcommittee of Academic Senate and reconstituting it as a management committee and a subcommittee of University Research Committee, effective 1 January 2020. This decision was ratified and further amended by Academic Senate at its meeting of 11 November 2020 (per Resolution AS167/21).


(2) The Higher Degree by Research Scholarships Committee shall undertake the duties as listed under Section 4 below, to ensure appropriate selection criteria and allocation of HDR scholarships for the university.

Top of Page

Section 2 - Glossary

(3)  For the purpose of this document:

  1. Committee – means the Higher Degree by Research Scholarships Committee.
  2. Higher degree by research (HDR) – means a masters or doctorate course of which at least 66% is research.
Top of Page

Section 3 - Membership

(4) The committee shall comprise:

  1. Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation) (or nominee) - Chair.
  2. Pro Vice-Chancellor (Indigenous Engagement) (or nominee).
  3. Associate Dean (Research) from each faculty, who are representatives from the University Research Committee.
  4. Experienced researchers, one from each faculty and whose discipline areas are complementary to those represented by the membership above and who have not participated in faculty ranking of HDR scholarships in the current scholarship round. These members shall have a term of office for two years. 

(5) Right of audience and debate:

  1. Manager, Higher Degree by Research, Office of Research Services and Graduate Studies (or nominee).
  2. Sub Dean (Graduate Studies) from each faculty.
Top of Page

Section 4 - Functions and responsibilities

Committee responsibilities

(6) The committee shall:

  1. recommend to the University Research Committee criteria and selection procedures for the awarding of Australian Government Research Training Program (AGRTP) scholarships,
  2. periodically conduct the ranking of candidates for HDR scholarships on behalf of the University Research Committee, 
  3. submit recommendations to the University Research Committee and the Academic Senate relating to the award of HDR scholarships, and
  4. refer any matters relating to policy or procedure to University Research Committee for consideration.
Top of Page

Section 5 - Meetings


(7) A quorum for a meeting of the committee shall be a majority of the membership, which is half of the entire membership plus one.


(8) Meetings shall be conducted periodically to support the process of ranking HDR scholarships and as required to review and update the criteria and selection procedures.

Agendas and minutes

(9) Agendas and minutes for the meetings of the committee will be prepared by the Manager, Higher Degree by Research.

Conflict of interest

(10) Where a member has a perceived or material conflict of interest, they must declare this to the chair and at the committee meeting before the item of business is discussed.


(11) Variations to the terms of reference and/or membership of the committee must be approved by the University Research Committee.