View Current

Academic Senate - Academic Appeals Committee - Membership and Terms of Reference

This is the current version of this document. You can provide feedback on this policy to the document author - refer to the Status and Details on the document's navigation bar.

Section 1 - Membership

(1) The Academic Appeals Committee shall comprise:

  1. Presiding Officer, Academic Senate (or nominee who must be a member of the Academic Senate but shall not be an Executive Dean or member of a Faculty Exclusion Appeals Committee) - Presiding Officer;
  2. three members of the academic staff (who shall not be an Executive Dean, or a member of a Faculty Exclusion Appeals Committee) appointed by the Academic Senate; and
  3. one student appointed by the CSU Student Senate.

(2) Members appointed by the University’s Academic Senate and Student Senate shall hold office for a two year term.

(3) The Deputy Director Governance and Academic Secretary or nominee shall be secretary to the Committee.

Top of Page

Section 2 - Terms of Reference

(4) Subject to the Act, the By-law and to Resolutions of the Academic Senate, the Academic Appeals Committee shall:

  1. decide appeals, from higher degree research candidates and candidates in coursework programs with a research component, against decisions of the Research Committee or the Executive Dean of Faculty (where relevant) in accordance with the Progress, Supervision and Assessment Policy - Coursework Programs with a Research Component.