

# **AgriSciences Research and Business Park Steering Committee - Membership and Terms of Reference**

#### Section 1 - Establishment

(1) The AgriSciences Research and Business Park Steering Committee is established to provide governance and leadership for development of the AgriSciences Research and Business Park on the Wagga Wagga Campus of Charles Sturt University (the University).

## **Section 2 - Glossary**

- (2) For the purpose of this document:
  - a. Committee means the AgriSciences Research and Business Park Steering Committee.

## **Section 3 - Membership**

- (3) Core membership of the Committee will be, as a minimum, composed of:
  - a. Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research, Development and Industry) as Chair;
  - b. Executive Dean, Faculty of Science as Deputy Chair;
  - c. Research Centre Director, Graham Centre for Agricultural Innovation;
  - d. Professor of Food Engineering, School of Agricultural and Wine Sciences; and
  - e. Executive Director, Division of Facilities Management.
- (4) Membership will be supplemented by those with right of audience and debate:
  - a. representative from the University's Legal Services;
  - b. representative from the Division of Finance;
  - c. Head of Campus, Wagga Wagga; and
  - d. University Secretary and Director, Governance and Corporate Affairs.
- (5) Membership (core or supplementary) of the Committee will be reviewed annually as a minimum, but can be reviewed more frequently by the Committee to address one or more of the following scenarios:
  - a. engagement of expertise not represented by existing members;
  - b. in response to changes in the University organisational structure;
  - c. at the direction of the University Council or Senior Executive Committee; and
  - d. to reflect changes in the strategic direction of the AgriPark.
- (6) Membership terms will be permanent for the members outlined in clause 2 and 3, and variable and/or fixed term for additional members appointed under clause 4.

#### **Section 4 - Functions and Responsibilities**

- (7) The Committee will have responsibility for, but not limited to:
  - a. development and implementation of the Strategic Plan 2015-2020 of the AgriPark and associated timeline and Key Performance Indicators;
  - b. development of communication and branding plans in consultation with Division of Marketing and Communication;
  - c. establishment of a forward budget for development of the AgriPark including but not limited to Capital budget planning and management of financial considerations in consultation with the Chief Financial Officer;
  - d. establishment and oversight of a Research Advisory Group to be Chaired by the Executive Dean, Faculty of Science, which will report to the Committee;
  - e. establishment and oversight of a Project Control Group to be Chaired by the Executive Director, Division of Facilities Management, which will report to the Committee;
  - f. identification of and engagement with potential tenants;
  - g. completion of formal due diligence background checks including business, research, synergy and financial considerations on all potential tenants;
  - h. oversight of all contractual obligations in consultation with Legal Services; and
  - i. reporting within the University organisational structure.

## **Section 5 - Meetings**

#### **Meetings**

(8) The Committee will meet at least three times a year and report to the Senior Executive Committee after each meeting.

#### **Status and Details**

Status	Historic
Effective Date	19th April 2016
Review Date	19th December 2018
Approval Authority	Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research, Development and Industry)
Approval Date	10th April 2016
Expiry Date	23rd April 2016
Unit Head	Heather Cavanagh Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Engagement) +61 2 6933 4237
Author	Mary Kelly Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research, Development and Industry) +61 2 62726325
<b>Enquiries Contact</b>	