

Governance (Constitution) Rule 2012 No. 4

Division 1 Introduction

Name of Rule

- (1) This Rule is the Governance (Constitution) Rule 2012 No. 4.
- (2) The Rule may be referred to as the Constitution rules.

Commencement

(3) This Rule commences on 1 July 2012 under resolution CNL11/146.

Purpose

(4) This Rule is enacted for the purpose of determining the total number of members of the Council and the total number of members in each category of those members.

Authority

(5) This Rule is made pursuant to sections 8C, 31 and 32 of the Act.

Note: Section 8C of the Act authorises the Council to approve a Constitution Rule to prescribe the composition of the Council. Sections 31(1(f)) and 32 of the Act state that the Council may make Rules.

Glossary

- (6) In this Rule:
 - a. Act means the Charles Sturt University Act 1989.
 - b. By-law means the <u>Charles Sturt University By-law 2005</u>.
 - c. Council means the University Council established under Part 3 of the Act.
 - d. University Secretary means the Secretary appointed under the By-law.
- (7) In this Rule, unless the contrary intention appears:
 - a. a word or term that has not been defined in this Rule has the same meaning attributed to that word or term in the Act or By-law;
 - b. a reference to an officer of the University includes any person acting in that position; and
 - c. headings and notes do not form part of this Rule.

Division 2 The Council

Constitution of the Council

- (8) The Council is to consist of a total of 16 members comprised of the following categories:
 - a. three elected members under section 8E(2) of the Act, being:

- i. one person who is a member of the academic staff of the University elected by members of the academic staff; and
- ii. one person who is member of the general staff of the University elected by members of the general staff; and
- iii. one person who is a student of the University who:
 - is not employed on a full-time basis (or on such other basis as the by-laws may prescribe) as a member of the academic or general staff of the University and
 - is elected by the students of the University
- b. up to four members who are persons appointed by the Council who are graduates of the University under section 8F(1) of the Act;
- c. up to five external members who are persons appointed by the Council under section 8G of the Act;
- d. two external persons who are appointed by the Minister under section 8H of the Act; and
- e. three official members under section 8I of the Act, being:
 - i. the Chancellor;
 - ii. the Vice-Chancellor; and
 - iii. the person for the time being holding the office of presiding member of the Academic Senate (if that person is not the Vice-Chancellor) or of deputy presiding member of the Academic Senate (if the presiding member is the Vice-Chancellor).
- (9) A reference in this section to external persons is a reference to persons who are not members of the academic or general staff of the University or undergraduate or postgraduate students of the University.

Status and Details

Status	Current
Effective Date	2nd March 2021
Review Date	2nd March 2022
Approval Authority	University Council
Approval Date	2nd March 2021
Expiry Date	Not Applicable
Unit Head	Natalie Nixon University Secretary
Author	Natalie Nixon University Secretary
Enquiries Contact	Office of Governance and Corporate Affairs +61 2 63384207