

Governance (Constitution) Rule 2012 No. 1

Division 1 Introduction

1 Name of Rule

- (1) This Rule is the Governance (Constitution) Rule 2012.
- (2) The Rule may be referred to as the Constitution rules.

2 Commencement

(3) This Rule commences on 1 July 2012.

3 Purpose

(4) This Rule is enacted for the purpose of determining the total number of members of the Council and the total number of members in each category of those members.

4 Authority

(5) This Rule is made pursuant to section 8C, 31 and 32 of the Act.

Notes:

Section 8C authorizes the Council to approve a Constitution Rule to prescribe the composition of the Council.

(6) Section 31 (1) and 32 of the Act states that the Council may make Rules.

5 Glossary

- (7) In this Rule:
 - a. Act means the Charles Sturt University Act 1989.
 - b. By-law means the <u>Charles Sturt University By-law 2005</u>.
 - c. Secretary means the Secretary appointed under clause 19 of the By-law and includes a person or persons appointed to act on behalf of the Secretary from time to time.

6 Notes and Headings

- (8) The notes in the text of this Rule do not form part of this Rule.
- (9) Headings do not form part of this Rule.

Division 2 The Council

7 Constitution of the Council

(10) The Council is to consist of a total of 15 members comprised of the following categories:

- a. 3 elected members under section 8E(2) of the Act, being:
 - i. one person who is a member of the academic staff of the University elected by members of the academic staff; and
 - ii. one person who is member of the general staff of the University elected by members of the general staff; and
 - iii. one person who is a student of the University who:
 - is not employed on a full-time basis (or on such other basis as the by-laws may prescribe) as a member of the academic or general staff of the University and
 - is elected by the students of the University
- b. 4 members who are persons appointed by the Council who are graduates of the University under section 8F(1) of the Act;
- c. 3 external members who are persons appointed by the Council under section 8G(1) of the Act;
- d. 2 external persons who are appointed by the Minister under section 8H(1) (d) of the Act; and
- e. 3 official members under section 8I of the Act, being:
 - i. the Chancellor
 - ii. the Vice-Chancellor and
 - iii. the person for the time being holding the office of presiding member of the Academic Senate (if that person is not the Vice-Chancellor) or of deputy presiding member of the Academic Senate (if the presiding member is the Vice-Chancellor).
- (11) A reference in this section to external persons is a reference to persons who are not members of the academic or general staff of the University or undergraduate or postgraduate students of the University.

Status and Details

Status	Historic
Effective Date	22nd May 2014
Review Date	30th April 2015
Approval Authority	University Council
Approval Date	14th April 2014
Expiry Date	10th December 2017
Unit Head	Cassandra Webeck University Secretary +61 2 6338 4258
Author	Mark Burdack University Secretary
Enquiries Contact	Office of Governance and Corporate Affairs +61 2 63384207