

Faculty Boards - Faculty of Education - Membership and Terms of Reference

Section 1 - ESTABLISHMENT

(1) The Intellectual Property Policy Committee was established by resolution FBE 96/4 on 12 March 1996 and reports directly to Academic Senate on behalf of the Faculty Board.

Section 2 - International Committee

(2) Established by the Faculty of Education Faculty Board on 3 April 2007 (FBE 07/67) and amended on 22 July 2008 (FBE 08/85).

(3) The International Committee was disestablished by the Faculty of Education Faculty Board on 17 March 2009 (FBE 09/14).

Section 3 - Curriculum, Learning and Teaching Committee

(4) The Learning and Teaching Committee was established by the Faculty of Education Faculty Board on 6 November 2007 (FBE 07/166). The Committee was renamed the Faculty of Education Curriculum, Learning and Teaching Committee in 2012 and various amendments to the membership and terms of reference have been approved since that time.

Membership

(5) The membership includes:

- a. Sub-Dean Learning and Teaching (Chair);
- b. Associate Dean, Courses;
- c. Director Professional Experience Unit;
- d. Chair of the School of Information Studies Learning and Teaching Committee, or nominee;
- e. Chair of the School of Education Learning and Teaching Committee, or nominee;
- f. Chair of the School of Teacher Education Learning and Teaching Committee, or nominee;
- g. Division of Student Learning Faculty Manager Educational Design and Media Team, or nominee;
- h. manager, Academic Support or nominee;
- i. all Course Directors within the the Faculty of Education; and
- j. Transition and Student Engagement Coordinator.

Right of Audience and Debate

(6) The following have the right of audience and debate:

- a. Executive Deans
- b. other Sub-Deans
- c. Director, Education for Practice Institute
- d. Co-Director, Ulmagine;
- e. Head of Schools;
- f. all Faculty Educational Designers;
- g. all Faculty Course Coordinators
- h. other invited guests;

Duration of Membership

(7) Members of the committee whose membership is determined by role (e.g. Curriculum, Learning and Teaching Committee chair, Course Director etc.) will remain on the committee whilst ever they hold this role.

(8) For other members of the committee the standard duration of appointment will be two years.

(9) Members of the committee may undertake to continue on the committee for multiple two year appointments.

Terms of Reference

(10) The Faculty of Education Curriculum, Learning and Teaching Committee shall be the peak committee within the Faculty responsible for overseeing the design, delivery and evaluation of learning and teaching within the Faculty and will have specific responsibility for:

- a. acting as a link between the Schools, the Executive Dean, and the University Curriculum, Learning and Teaching Committee to foster effective communication;
- b. developing, promoting and enacting the Faculty's annual Learning, Teaching and Professional Experience Plan;
- c. using committee meetings as a forum for discussing ideas, issues and innovations regarding the University's and Faculty's approaches to learning and teaching;
- d. forging and maintaining links with the Education for Practice Institute and the Institute for Innovation in Flexible Learning and Teaching;
- e. recognising, encouraging and disseminating good teaching practices in the Faculty;
- f. fostering the nexus between teaching and research, and promoting the scholarship of learning and teaching; and
- g. fostering high quality course design, delivery and evaluation.

Frequency of Meetings

(11) The Committee shall convene five times per year with the option of holding additional meetings when required.

Minutes

(12) The Committee shall submit the minutes or a report of its proceedings to the Faculty Board as well as to the University Curriculum, Learning and Teaching Committee.

Status and Details

Status	Historic
Effective Date	14th January 2016
Review Date	14th September 2020
Approval Authority	Academic Senate
Approval Date	26th October 2015
Expiry Date	31st May 2017
Unit Head	Cassandra Webeck University Secretary +61 2 6338 4258
Author	Megan Bond Manager, Academic Senate
Enquiries Contact	Office of Governance and Corporate Affairs +61 2 63384207