

## **Academic Senate - University Medals Committee - Membership and Terms of Reference**

## **Section 1 - Membership**

- (1) The University Medals Committee shall comprise:
  - a. Deputy Presiding Officer, Academic Senate Presiding Officer;
  - b. Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) Deputy Presiding Officer;
  - c. one senior member of the University with research expertise; and
  - d. two members of the academic staff appointed by the Academic Senate.
- (2) The Deputy Director Governance and Academic Secretary or nominee shall be secretary to the Committee.
- (3) The appointed members of the Committee shall serve for a two-year term.

## **Section 2 - Terms of Reference**

- (4) The University Medals Committee shall:
  - a. decide the recipients of the University medals each year from the nominations received from the Faculties and report its decision to the next meeting of the Academic Senate;
  - b. recommend to the Academic Senate on policy and procedures relating to the award of University medals;
  - c. provide guidelines to the Faculties with respect to the nomination of candidates for University medals; and
  - d. submit copies of the minutes of meetings of the Committee to the Academic Senate for information. Effective from the December 1996 meeting of the Academic Senate, the minutes shall be deemed to have been submitted to the Academic Senate by virtue of their publication on Charles Sturt University's website.

## **Status and Details**

Status	Historic
Effective Date	29th March 2017
Review Date	29th March 2022
Approval Authority	Academic Senate
Approval Date	20th March 2017
Expiry Date	1st January 2019
Unit Head	Cassandra Webeck University Secretary +61 2 6338 4258
Author	Ingrid Pulley Executive Officer (Academic Senate) +61 2 63384746
Enquiries Contact	Office of Governance and Corporate Affairs +61 2 63384207