

Higher Degree by Research Scholarships Committee - Membership and Terms of Reference

Section 1 - Membership

(1) The Higher Degree by Research Scholarships Committee (HDRSC) shall be formed periodically with membership to comprise:

- a. Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Engagement) (or nominee) Presiding Officer;
- b. Chair, Academic Senate
- c. up to three elected representatives from the University Research Committee, who have not participated in Faculty ranking of HDR Scholarships in the current scholarship round; and
- d. up to two experienced researchers from discipline areas complementary to those represented by the membership above and who have not participated in Faculty ranking of HDR Scholarships in the current scholarship round.
- (2) Membership should comprise at least one representative from each Faculty.
- (3) Right of audience and debate:
 - a. Manager, Higher Degree by Research, Research Office (or nominee)
 - b. Sub Dean (Graduate Studies) from each Faculty.

Section 2 - Terms of Reference

(4) The Higher Degree by Research Scholarships Committee shall:

- a. recommend to the University Research Committee criteria and selection procedures for the award of Australian Postgraduate Awards (with or without stipend), International Postgraduate Research Scholarships and the Charles Sturt University Postgraduate Research Scholarships;
- b. periodically conduct the ranking of candidates for HDR scholarships on behalf of the University Research Committee; and
- c. submit recommendations to the University Research Committee and the Academic Senate relating to the award of HDR scholarships.

Status and Details

Status	Current
Effective Date	3rd July 2020
Review Date	3rd July 2023
Approval Authority	Academic Senate
Approval Date	3rd July 2020
Expiry Date	Not Applicable
Unit Head	Michael Friend Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation) +61 2 6933 2285
Author	Michael Friend Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation) +61 2 6933 2285
Enquiries Contact	Research Office +61 2 69332578