

Academic Senate - Higher Degree by Research Scholarships Committee - Membership and Terms of Reference

Section 1 - Membership

- (1) The Higher Degree by Research Scholarship Committee shall be formed periodically with membership to comprise:
 - a. Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Engagement) (or nominee) Presiding Officer;
 - b. Presiding Officer, Academic Senate;
 - c. up to three elected representatives from the Research Committee, who have not participated in Faculty ranking of HDR Scholarships in the current scholarship round; and
 - d. up to two experienced researchers from discipline areas complementary to those represented by the membership above and who have not participated in Faculty ranking of HDR Scholarships in the current scholarship round.
- (2) Membership should comprise at least one representative from each Faculty.
- (3) Right of Audience and Debate:
 - a. Manager, Research Policy and Coordination, Research Office (or nominee).

Section 2 - Terms of Reference

- (4) The Higher Degree by Research Scholarship Committee shall:
 - a. recommend to the Research Committee criteria and selection procedures for the award of Australian Postgraduate Awards (with or without stipend), International Postgraduate Research Scholarships and the Charles Sturt University Postgraduate Research Scholarships;
 - b. periodically conduct the ranking of candidates for HDR scholarships on behalf of the Research Committee; and
 - c. submit recommendations to the Research Committee and the Academic Senate relating to the award of HDR scholarships.

Status and Details

Status	Current
Effective Date	24th May 2014
Review Date	31st May 2018
Approval Authority	Academic Senate
Approval Date	24th May 2014
Expiry Date	Not Applicable
Unit Head	Cassandra Webeck University Secretary +61 2 6338 4258
Author	Megan Bond Manager, Academic Senate
Enquiries Contact	Office of Governance and Corporate Affairs +61 2 63384207