

Academic Senate - Faculty Assessment Committees - Membership and Terms of Reference

Section 1 - Membership

- (1) The membership of a Faculty Assessment Committee shall be as follows:
 - a. Executive Dean (Presiding Officer); and
 - b. Head of Schools and Units.
- (2) The Presiding Officer, Academic Senate shall have the right of audience and debate.
- (3) The term of appointment for members of the Faculty Assessment Committees shall be two years. The rules for conduct of meetings, including the number for a quorum, shall be as detailed in the <u>Boards and Committees Policy-Conduct of Meetings of Academic Committees</u>.

Variation to Membership

(4) Variations to the membership of Faculty Assessment Committees must be approved by Academic Senate.

Arts Assessment Committee

- (5) The Arts Assessment Committee has been varied to include the following positions:
 - a. Sub-Dean of Psychology; and
 - b. Associate Dean.

Education Assessment Committee

- (6) The Education Assessment Committee has been varied to include the following positions:
 - a. those Associate Deans of the Faculty that the Education Faculty Assessment Committee deems appropriate;
 - b. those Associate Head of Schools from the Schools of the Faculty that the Education Faculty Assessment Committee deems appropriate;
 - c. the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Student Learning), or nominee;
 - d. the Director, Academic Support, or nominee; and
 - e. those Sub-Deans of the Faculty that the Education Faculty Assessment Committee deems appropriate; and
 - f. the Academic Adviser to the Graduate Certificate in Wiradjuri Language, Culture and Heritage right of audience and debate.

Business Assessment Committee

(7) The Associate Dean (Courses), Faculty Manager, Faculty Courses Manager, School Office Managers, Manager, TAFE and Corporate Partnership and the Assessment Design Coordinator have right of audience and debate at meetings.

Science Assessment Committee

- (8) Include the:
 - a. Associate Dean;
 - b. Sub-Dean (Learning and Teaching).

Section 2 - Terms of Reference

- (9) The Faculty Assessment Committees shall:
 - a. receive and consider the recommendations of the School Assessment Committees;
 - b. award a final grade to each student enrolled in each subject in the Faculty:
 - i. Note: with the exception of review of grade applications (which are required to be approved in accordance with the <u>Assessment Policy</u>), the Executive Dean of Faculty, as Presiding Officer of the Committee (or the relevant Head of School, where delegated), has authority to approve late grades, changes to grades or conversions to substantive grades which require approval before the next meeting of the Faculty Assessment Committee. Such approvals will then be reported to the next meeting of the Committee for noting;
 - c. decide applications from students for a review of grade and other grade changes recommended by the School Assessment Committee:
 - Note: the Executive Dean of Faculty has authority to determine applications for review of grades on behalf of the Faculty Assessment Committee. Such approvals will be ratified at the next meeting of the Faculty Assessment Committee;
 - d. receive the recommendations of Honours Coordinators (which are to be made in accordance with Faculty protocol) and award the final grade for a dissertation or project, and the level of award to be conferred for each Bachelor (Honours) candidate;
 - e. receive the recommendations of School Assessment Committees and award the final grade for a dissertation or other examinable work for each Master by Coursework and Dissertation candidate; and
 - f. develop and implement processes within the Faculty which shall enable the Executive Dean to satisfy the Academic Senate or any other body auditing the academic practices of the University, that Academic Senate and Faculty assessment policy and procedures are being followed in the Faculty.

Variation to Terms of Reference

(10) Variations to the terms of reference of Faculty Assessment Committees must be approved by Academic Senate.

Status and Details

| Status | Historic |
|--------------------|---|
| Effective Date | 4th May 2015 |
| Review Date | 4th January 2020 |
| Approval Authority | Academic Senate |
| Approval Date | 24th April 2015 |
| Expiry Date | 13th January 2016 |
| Unit Head | Cassandra Webeck University Secretary +61 2 6338 4258 |
| Author | Megan Bond Manager, Academic Senate |
| Enquiries Contact | Office of Academic Governance +61 2 63384831 |