

Academic Senate - Academic Policy and Regulations Committee - Membership and Terms of Reference

Section 1 - Membership

Composition

- (1) The Academic Policy and Regulations Committee membership shall comprise:
 - a. Presiding Officer, Academic Senate, or nominee Presiding Officer;
 - b. Deputy Presiding Officer, Academic Senate
 - c. one academic staff member from each Faculty, nominated by the Executive Dean who must be a Head of School or Course Director;
 - d. Dean of Students;
 - e. Executive Director, Division of Student Administration;
 - f. Pro Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Teaching);
 - g. Deputy Director Governance and Academic Secretary; and
 - h. Executive Officer (Academic Senate).

Secretary

(2) The Secretary to the Committee will be nominated by the Deputy Director Governance and Academic Secretary.

Terms of Office

(3) Nominated members of the Committee shall have terms of office of two years.

Right of Audience and Debate

- (4) The following shall have right of audience and debate at meetings of the Committee:
 - a. Faculty Administration Managers; and
 - b. Registrar, Avondale College of Higher Education.

Section 2 - Terms of Reference

- (5) Subject to the <u>Charles Sturt University Act 1989 No 76</u>, the <u>Charles Sturt University By-law 2005</u>, the Rules or Resolutions of the Council, and to the Resolutions of the Academic Senate, the Academic Policy and Regulations Committee shall:
 - a. draft, edit, review, monitor and recommend to Academic Senate matters relating to existing and proposed academic regulations, policies and Rules of the Academic Senate (except those relating to Master Research Programs and Research Doctoral Programs); and
 - b. deal with relevant matters referred from the Academic Senate, the Vice-Chancellor, the Deputy Vice-

Chancellors, the Deputy Director Governance and Academic Secretary, the Executive Director, Division of Student Administration and Executive Deans.

Section 3 - Miscellaneous

Annual Work Plan

(6) The Academic Policy and Regulations Committee shall establish an annual plan of work which shall be incorporated into the annual calendar of Academic Senate business (which itself will be aligned to the University's planning cycle and which identifies the nature and timing of key agenda items, including the reviews of academic policies).

Status and Details

Status	Historic
Effective Date	2nd June 2017
Review Date	2nd June 2022
Approval Authority	Academic Senate
Approval Date	18th May 2017
Expiry Date	1st January 2019
Unit Head	Cassandra Webeck University Secretary +61 2 6338 4258
Author	Ingrid Pulley Executive Officer (Academic Senate) +61 2 63384746
Enquiries Contact	Office of Governance and Corporate Affairs +61 2 63384207