

Academic Senate - Academic Regulations Committee - Membership and Terms of Reference

Section 1 - Membership

Composition

(1) The Academic Regulations and Policy Committee membership shall comprise:

- a. Presiding Officer, Academic Senate, or nominee Presiding Officer;
- b. one academic staff member from each Faculty , nominated by the Executive Dean who must be a Head of School or Course Director;
- c. Dean of Students;
- d. Executive Director, Division of Student Administration;
- e. Academic Secretary;
- f. Manager, Academic Senate.

Secretary

(2) The Secretary to the Committee will be nominated by the Academic Secretary.

Terms of Office

(3) Nominated members of the Committee will have terms of office of two years.

Right of Audience and Debate

(4) The Faculty Managers shall have the right of audience and debate at meetings of the Committee.

Section 2 - Terms of Reference

(5) Subject to the Act , the By-law , the Rules or Resolutions of the Council, and to the Resolutions of the Academic Senate, the Academic Regulations and Policy Committee shall:

- a. draft, edit, review, monitor and recommend to Academic Senate matters relating to existing and proposed academic regulations and Rules of the Academic Senate (except those relating to Master Research Programs and Research Doctoral Programs);
- b. deal with relevant matters referred from the Academic Senate, the Vice-Chancellor, the Deputy Vice-Chancellors, the Academic Secretary, the Executive Director, Division of Student Administration and Executive Deans.

Section 3 - Miscellaneous

Annual Work Plan

(6) The Academic Regulations and Policy Committee shall establish an annual plan of work which shall be incorporated into the annual calendar of Academic Senate business (which itself will be aligned to the University's planning cycle and which identifies the nature and timing of key agenda items, including the reviews of academic policies).

Status and Details

Status	Historic
Effective Date	22nd May 2014
Review Date	31st May 2018
Approval Authority	Academic Senate
Approval Date	22nd May 2014
Expiry Date	10th August 2015
Unit Head	Cassandra Webeck University Secretary +61 2 6338 4258
Author	Megan Bond Manager, Academic Senate
Enquiries Contact	Office of Academic Governance +61 2 63384831