

Governance (Regional Consultative Committees) Rule 2006 No.7

Division 1 Introduction

1 Name of Rule

- (1) This Rule is the Governance (Regional Consultative Committees) Rule 2006 No 7.
- (2) This Rule may be referred to as the Terms of Reference Regional Consultative Committees.

2 Commencement

(3) This Rule commences on 8 September 2006 (CNL06/73).

3 Purpose

(4) This Rule is enacted for the purpose of defining the terms of reference and composition of the Regional Consultative Committees under the Charles Sturt University Act 1989.

4 Authority

(5) This Rule is made pursuant to authority granted to the Council under section 17, 20 and 32 of the Act.

5 Glossary

- (6) In this Rule:
 - a. Act means the Charles Sturt University Act 1989.
 - b. Committee means a Regional Consultative Committee established under this Rule.
 - c. Council means the University Council established under section 8B of the Act.
 - d. Head of Campus means a person appointed by the Vice-Chancellor to hold the office of Head of Campus of a campus.
 - e. Vice-Chancellor means the Vice-Chancellor of the University appointed under section 12 of the Act.
- (7) In this Rule, a reference to the holder of an office is to be construed as including a reference to any person appointed to act for the time being in the place of the holder of the office.

6 Notes and Headings

- (8) The notes in the text of this Rule do not form part of this Rule.
- (9) Headings do not form part of this Rule.

Division 2 Functions

7 Establishment of Committees

(10) There will be an advisory committee of the University for the following regions (connected with the campuses

indicated in brackets):

- a. Murray-Hume Regional Consultative Committee (Albury-Wodonga Campus);
- b. Macquarie Regional Consultative Committee (Bathurst Campus);
- c. Capital Region and Canberra Regional Consultative Committee (Canberra and Goulburn campuses);
- d. Orana and Far Western Regional Consultative Committee (Dubbo Campus);
- e. Ontario Regional Consultative Committee (Ontario Campus);
- f. Central Tablelands Regional Consultative Committee (Orange Campus);
- g. Mid-North Coast and Hinterland Regional Consultative Committee (Port Macquarie Campus);
- h. Riverina Regional Consultative Committee (Wagga Wagga Campus).
- (11) The Vice-Chancellor may establish additional regional consultative committees as may be required.
- (12) Note:

Under section 17(a) of the Act the Council is to establish an advisory committee for each major campus.

8 Functions

- (13) The functions of the committees are:
 - a. provide advice to the University about the higher education and research priorities of the region;
 - b. provide input from a community, industry and government perspective on strategic and campus planning, and campus culture;
 - c. provide feedback to the University on opportunities and issues that may advance, or limit, the achievement of the University or regions strategies and priorities;
 - d. engage in activities that assist in building community and industry understanding of the role of the University in the region, and which help promote the work and impact of the University in the region, and in rural and regional Australia more generally;
 - e. engage in activities that assist in promoting how the University and community can work together to support the development of the region;
 - f. engage in activities that assist in advocating for the interests of the University within the member's regional networks including government, business and the community; and
 - g. provide advice on any other matter referred to the committee by the University.

(14) Note:

Under section 17(c) of the Act the advisory committee has such functions as may be determined by the Council.

Division 3 Composition

9 Membership

- (15) Each Regional Consultative Committee will be comprised of:
 - a. the Head of Campus for the region, as determined by the Vice-Chancellor;
 - b. a minimum of five and a maximum of 15 members.
- (16) A member may be appointed personally, or by virtue of an office held by the member.

- (17) Where a member is appointed by virtue of an officer held by the member, the occupant of the position will be the occupant of that office from time to time.
- (18) The Vice-Chancellor may vary the membership of a Committee or the term of office of a member of a Committee, at any time.

(19) Note:

Under section 17(b) of the Act the members of an advisory committee are to be appointed by the Council. Under section 20 of the Act the Council may delegate all or any of its functions under the Act (except its power of delegation) to an officer or body of the University. Under clause 13 of this Rule, the Council has delegated its power of appointment to the advisory committees to the Vice-Chancellor.

10 Term

- (20) Except a person appointed by virtue of an office held by the member under clause 15:
 - a. a member may only be appointed for a term of up to four years by the Vice-Chancellor on the recommendation of the Director, Governance and Corporate Affairs
 - b. a person must not be appointed to serve on the committee for more than eight years (unless the Vice-Chancellor otherwise resolves in relation to the person).

11 Presiding Officer and Deputy Presiding Officer

- (21) The Head of Campus for the relevant region will chair meetings of the Committee.
- (22) The Head of Campus will preside at each meeting of the Committee at which the Head of Campus is present.
- (23) The Committee will elect a Deputy Chair of the Committee for a term not exceeding two years.
- (24) At any meeting of the Committee at which the Head of Campus is not present, the Head of Campus may request that the Deputy Chair preside at that meeting.

Division 4 Meetings

12 Meetings

- (25) Meetings of the Committee will be held at least twice each year at a time, date and location decided by the Head of Campus in consultation with the committee.
- (26) The Head of Campus may cancel and reschedule meetings as may be convenient or necessary.

13 Conduct of meetings

(27) The procedure for the calling of meetings of a Committee and for the conduct of business at those meetings will be as determined by the Head of Campus (subject to any rules of the Council).

14 Vacation of office

- (28) In addition to any other provision of this Rule, the position of a member of a Committee becomes vacant if the member:
 - a. resigns their membership in writing to the Head of Campus;
 - b. is absent from three consecutive meetings of which reasonable notice has been given and is not excused by the Committee for his or her absence;

- c. if the member ceases to be qualified for appointment; or
- d. is removed from the membership by the Vice-Chancellor.

15 Filling of vacancy in office of member

(29) If the office of an appointed member of the Committee becomes vacant, a person may be appointed to fill the vacancy in the same manner as provided for the appointment of members.

16 Quorum

(30) There is no quorum required for meetings of the Committee however, the Head of Campus will seek to ensure that meetings are held to facilitate the participation of the majority of members.

17 Voting

- (31) The committees are advisory to the University and do not have delegated authority under the Act to make decisions binding on the University.
- (32) Advice and input of the committees should be decided by consensus of the meeting.

Status and Details

Status	Historic
Effective Date	22nd May 2014
Review Date	28th June 2016
Approval Authority	University Council
Approval Date	15th May 2014
Expiry Date	10th December 2017
Unit Head	Cassandra Webeck University Secretary +61 2 6338 4258
Author	Mark Burdack University Secretary
Enquiries Contact	Office of Governance and Corporate Affairs +61 2 63384207