

# 'Faculties' - Membership and Terms of Reference Section 1 - Establishment

- (1) The Foundation Faculties of the University were the Faculties of: Arts; Education; Commerce; Health Studies; and Science and Agriculture. From 1 January 2007, the Faculties of the University were the Faculties of: Arts, Business, Education and Science. From 4 July 2016, the Faculties of the University shall be the Faculties of: Arts and Education; Business, Justice and Behavioural Sciences; and Science.
- (2) The establishment of new Faculties of the University shall be as prescribed by the University Council on the advice of the Academic Senate.

### **Section 2 - Glossary**

(3) Nil.

## **Section 3 - Membership**

The membership of each Faculty shall be as follows:

- (4) Each School and authorised teaching unit of the University shall be part of a Faculty as prescribed by the University Council on the advice of the Academic Senate.
- (5) There shall be an Executive Dean of each Faculty under conditions of office as from time to time may be prescribed by the University Council.
- (6) The membership of each Faculty shall comprise the Executive Dean of the Faculty and such members of the academic staff of the Schools of the Faculty as prescribed by the University Council.
- (7) Faculties shall comprise the professoriate (that is, professors and associate professors), and all tenured members of the academic staff assigned to the constituent Schools of the Faculty and all academic staff holding fixed-term appointments of 0.5 or greater. The Executive Dean of a Faculty may also invite an honorary appointment to the University to become a member of the Faculty.

#### **Section 4 - Terms of Reference**

The terms of reference of each Faculty shall be as follows:

- (8) The Faculty shall implement the Academic Senate policies with respect to teaching, scholarship and research.
- (9) Subject to the Act, the By-law and the Rules or Resolutions of the University Council and of the Academic Senate, each Faculty shall, in conjunction with the Schools of the Faculty:
  - a. develop, maintain and deliver its courses and subjects. More specifically, the Schools of the Faculty shall be

- responsible for developing, maintaining and delivering subjects and the Faculties shall be responsible for developing, maintaining and delivering courses;
- b. encourage scholarship and research within the Schools and authorised teaching units of the Faculty;
- c. consult and co-operate with other Faculties and members of the University to facilitate teaching, scholarship and research; and
- d. the executive arm of the Faculty shall be a Faculty Board, being a sub-committee of the Academic Senate.

#### **Status and Details**

Status	Current
Effective Date	29th September 2017
Review Date	28th September 2022
Approval Authority	Academic Senate
Approval Date	28th September 2017
Expiry Date	Not Applicable
Unit Head	Graham Brown Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic)
Author	Ingrid Pulley
Enquiries Contact	Office of Governance and Corporate Affairs +61 2 63384207