

## Faculties - Membership and Terms of Reference Section 1 - Establishment

- (1) The Foundation Faculties of the the University were the Faculties of: Arts, Education, Commerce, Health Studies and Science and Agriculture. From 1 January 2007 the Faculties of the University shall be the Faculties of: Arts, Business, Education and Science.
- (2) The establishment of new Faculties of the University shall be as prescribed by the University Council on the advice of the Academic Senate.

## **Section 2 - Membership**

The membership of each Faculty shall be as follows:

- (3) Each School and authorised teaching unit of the University shall be part of a Faculty as prescribed by the University Council on the advice of the Academic Senate.
- (4) There shall be an Executive Dean of each Faculty under conditions of office as from time to time may be prescribed by the University Council.
- (5) The membership of each Faculty shall comprise the Executive Dean of the Faculty and such members of the academic staff of the Schools of the Faculty as prescribed by the University Council.
- (6) Faculties shall comprise the professoriate (that is, professors and associate professors), and all tenured members of the academic staff assigned to the constituent Schools of the Faculty and all academic staff holding fixed-term appointments of 0.5 or greater. The Executive Dean of a Faculty may also invite an honorary appointment to the the University to become a member of the Faculty.

## **Section 3 - Terms of Reference**

The terms of reference of each Faculty shall be as follows:

- (7) The Faculty shall implement the Academic Senate policies with respect to teaching, scholarship and research.
- (8) Subject to the Act, the By-Law and the Rules or Resolutions of the University Council and of the Academic Senate, each Faculty shall:
  - a. conduct and supervise the teaching and assessment in the courses and subjects delegated to the Faculty by the Academic Senate;
  - b. encourage scholarship and research within the Schools and authorised teaching units of the Faculty;
  - c. consult and co-operate with other Faculties and members of the University to facilitate teaching, scholarship and research;
  - d. the executive arm of the Faculty shall be a Faculty Board, being a sub-committee of the Academic Senate.

## **Status and Details**

Status	Historic
Effective Date	22nd May 2014
Review Date	31st July 2018
Approval Authority	Academic Senate
Approval Date	22nd May 2014
Expiry Date	3rd May 2015
Unit Head	Cassandra Webeck University Secretary +61 2 6338 4258
Author	Megan Bond Manager, Academic Senate
Enquiries Contact	Office of Academic Governance +61 2 63384831