

Boards and Committees Policy - Committees of Academic Senate

Section 1 - Name of Rule

(1) This Rule is the Rule for the Committees of Academic Senate 2006.

Section 2 - Commencement

(2) This Rule commences on 14 June 2006.

Section 3 - Purpose

(3) This Rule is enacted to prescribe the committees of the Academic Senate of the University to which the Academic Senate has delegated some of its functions in accordance with clause 107 of the <u>By-Law</u>.

Section 4 - Authority

(4) This Rule is enacted under the authority granted to the Academic Senate under section 32 of the <u>Act</u> and clause 110 of the <u>By-Law</u> .

Section 5 - Glossary

(5) In this Rule:

- a. "Act" means the Charles Sturt University Act 1989.
- b. "By-law" means the Charles Sturt University By-Law 2005.
- c. "Council" means the Council of the University established under section 9 of the Act.

Section 6 - Committees of the Academic Senate

- (6) Note: Clause 107 of the <u>By-Law</u> prescribes that the Academic Senate may constitute one or more committees. Such committees are "prescribed under section 20 of the <u>Act</u> as a body to which Council may delegate all or any of its functions (except the power of delegation) but only in relation to those functions conferred on the Academic Senate under clause 105".
- (7) Subject to the Act , the By-Law and to Rules or Resolutions of the Council, the Academic Senate shall;
 - a. establish the Faculty Boards of the University and delegate authority to them for the implementation of the teaching, scholarship and research policies prescribed by the Academic Senate;
 - b. establish a Research Committee to be the principal advisory committee of the Academic Senate in relation to

- the University's research and research training profile and performance;
- c. establish a Curriculum, Learning and Teaching Committee to oversee and advise the Academic Senate on curriculum and learning and teaching policy relating to undergraduate courses and postgraduate coursework programs within the University;
- d. establish an Academic Policy and Regulations Committee to oversee and advise the Academic Senate on existing and proposed academic regulations and Rules of the Academic Senate (except those relating to Master Research Programs and Research Doctoral Programs);
- e. establish Faculty Assessment Committees for each Faculty of the University and delegate authority to them for the awarding of final grades to students enrolled in subjects;
- f. receive the minutes of the Faculty Boards of the University and of all other Standing and Ad Hoc Committees of the Academic Senate via publication of the minutes on the relevant University website;
- g. establish such other committees as it deems necessary to assist it in furthering the educational activities, teaching or research of the University.

Section 7 - Composition and Terms of Reference of Committees of Academic Senate

- (8) The composition and terms of reference of Committees of the Academic Senate shall be as determined by the Academic Senate from time to time.
- (9) When the Academic Senate establishes a Committee in accordance with this Rule, the Presiding Officer of the Academic Senate shall ensure that the composition and terms of reference of the committee is published on the Internet on the website of the University.

Status and Details

Status	Current
Effective Date	22nd May 2014
Review Date	28th February 2018
Approval Authority	Academic Senate
Approval Date	22nd May 2014
Expiry Date	Not Applicable
Unit Head	Cassandra Webeck University Secretary +61 2 6338 4258
Author	Nicholas Drengenberg Deputy Director Governance and Academic Secretary +61 2 63384831
Enquiries Contact	Governance Services