

## 'Academic Appeals Committee' - Membership and Terms of Reference

## **Section 1 - Membership**

(1) The Academic Appeals Committee shall comprise:

- a. Presiding Officer, Academic Senate (or nominee who must be a member of the Academic Senate but shall not be an Executive Dean or member of a Faculty Exclusion Appeals Committee) Presiding Officer;
- b. three members of the academic staff (who shall not be an Executive Dean, or a member of a Faculty Exclusion Appeals Committee) appointed by the Academic Senate; and
- c. one student appointed by the CSU Student Senate.
- (2) Members appointed by the University's Academic Senate and Student Senate shall hold office for a two year term.
- (3) The University Secretary or their delegate shall be secretary to the Committee.

## **Section 2 - Terms of Reference**

(4) Subject to the <u>Act</u>, the <u>By-law</u> and to Resolutions of the Academic Senate, the Academic Appeals Committee shall:

a. decide appeals, from higher degree research candidates and candidates in coursework programs with a research component, against decisions of the Research Committee or the Executive Dean of Faculty (where relevant) in accordance with the Progress, Supervision and Assessment Policy - Coursework Programs with a Research Component.

## **Status and Details**

Status	Historic
Effective Date	22nd May 2014
Review Date	31st May 2018
Approval Authority	Academic Senate
Approval Date	22nd May 2014
Expiry Date	7th May 2021
Unit Head	Michael Friend Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation)
Author	Megan Bond
Enquiries Contact	Office of Research Services and Graduate Studies +61 2 69332578