Charles Sturt University Ceremonial Flags - Order Protocol

Charles Sturt University ceremonial flagpoles consist of five flags. The Australian National Flag takes precedence over all other flags when it is flown in company with other flags. The below instructions are in accordance with Australian Flag Protocol. Contact the University Secretary for guidance on the order of precedence for ceremonial flagpoles with less than five poles.

Standard Order of Flags











Order of Flags for First Nations Significant Dates











Order of Flags for LGBTIQA+ Significant Dates











Order of Flags for International Delegations**











- * The NSW flag is to be flown at campuses located in NSW. The ACT flag is to be flown at campuses located in the ACT.
- ** Where several national flags are to be flown at the same time, the Australian flag should be flown in the centre. Please contact the University Secretary to confirm the order of flags in this instance.

Document history

| Approval date | Approved by | Nature of Amendment |
|---------------|----------------------|--|
| 14/5/2016 | University Secretary | Original approval |
| 14/5/2021 | University Secretary | Revised to improve alignment with the ANFA Flags Protocol, University flag removed from standard order of flags. |
| 03/5/2023 | University Secretary | Revised to include LGBTIQA+ Flag Protocol. Order of precedence for 1-4 flagpoles omitted. |

